Variety on “They Remain”

5

June 13, 2017 by Laird

A nice article about Philip Gelatt’s adaptation of my story, “–30–“ at Variety. Paladin picked up the domestic distribution rights. I’ve screened a near finished version of the film–Harper and Henderson do a terrific job.

From the article:

Urman said, “I can’t remember when I last encountered a film that so completely defies categorization and so consistently forges new territory as ‘They Remain.’ Phil weaves such a potent spell, and creates such extraordinary images, you’re utterly convinced that, any second, something awful will happen.”

5 thoughts on “Variety on “They Remain”

  1. griffinwords says:

    Can’t wait to see this!

  2. What Michael said! Count me in. Congratulations Laird!

  3. Jonathan Sprague says:

    I’m a member of the Shock Waves Horror Movie Club on FB. These folks are very intelligent, hard ass horror film buffs. I’ll do what I can to talk up “They Remain” among Group members. Personally, I’m psyched!

  4. David Burke says:

    Very cool! It appears that they have switched out the desert setting for the woods. I rather liked the paranoid isolation that the desert added to the tale, but it should be interesting to see how the new setting effects the telling of the story. Very excited to tell my horror buddies all about this and about Laird’s stories!

    • David Burke says:

      ***WHOOPS*** I just realized that the desert detail is something my mind must have filled in with all the mentions of Coyote’s, I just read this collection a week ago, and now that I check back in the text, it is not set in the desert at all. I guess that’s just where my mind wanted to go. Oh well, my sentiment is the same!

Leave a Reply

Blood Standard

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

Matthew Revert Art

X's for Eyes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,462 other followers

