Swift to Chase Release Day

4

October 7, 2016 by Laird

Swift to Chase is officially out in the world today–if you get a physical copy from the publisher, they will toss in an electronic copy as a bonus. It’s my fourth collection. Much as the first three collections are a cosmic horror trilogy, this marks the beginning of what I think of as the Alaska cycle. You’ll meet recurring heroes Jessica Mace, and Rex the war dog. You’ll also get a taste of more nefarious types, such as the Alaska branch of the Tooms family, and the enigmatic J clan.

In the past, I’ve often combined horror with noir, crime, and thriller elements; these stories angle farther from Lovecraft and Clark Ashton Smith, and dig deeper into my own experiences in the 49th state. It’s not exactly autobiographical, but I’ve let it bleed. The book represents four years of my life, and on the back side of forty that’s no small matter. As usual, there’s more to come, so watch this space.

Front_Cover_Image_Swift_to_Chasecover art by Chuck Killorin

 JournalStone has 10 copies up for grabs as a Goodreads giveaway.

Thank you to my friends, family, and colleagues:
Publisher Christopher Payne at JournalStone; Paul Tremblay (for
a fine introduction); John, Fiona, and David Langan; Ron Wier
(technical advice on “LD50”); and Chuck Killorin (for the excellent
cover art); Mark Tallen; the marvelous Deborah Gordon Brown; Yves
Tourigny; Jason and Darci Duelge; Jason and Harmony Barron and
the kids; Timbi Porter; and Jessica M for her love and support.

Special thanks to Vincenzo Bilof for his edits.
My gratitude to the editors who originally acquired these stories:
John Joseph Adams; Steve Berman; Ellen Datlow; Mike Davis; Aaron
French; Paula Guran; Gerry Huntman; Ross Lockhart; and Robert S.
Wilson.

Extra Special thanks to my agents, Janet Reid and Pouya
Shahbazian, and their wonderful support staff, Penny Moore and
Chris McEwen.

Finally, thank you to my readers. You folks make it possible for me to do what I do.

 

4 thoughts on “Swift to Chase Release Day

  1. Joshua Walker says:

    I can not wait to read it. “Keep on keepin on!” I hope this is the stupidest response you have ever received. I’m buzzed and genuinely happy to read this. It’s 11 pm in Los Angeles! Yeah!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Can’t wait to glue my eyes to this one.

Leave a Reply

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

X's for Eyes

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,983 other followers

