Read This: Norman Partridge

6

July 10, 2015 by Laird

Norman Partridge is one of the unsung heroes of literary horror. He could have written crime in the vein of Elmore Leonard and Joseph Wambaugh, or noir like Jim Thompson. He could have done up westerns and mountain man novels in echo of Louis L’Amour and William Johnstone. Norm surely knows his Lovecraft, Lansdale, and Robert E. Howard. Instead, he took those influences and fused them into the service of a career in the weird and the macabre.

Authors are always in dialogue with our predecessors. We benefit, or suffer, from the influence of those who went before. Partridge ranks among the contemporary greats because of his nascent talent, and also because he successfully embeds literary influences into his own style, and does it in such a way that you cannot help but see the parts moving individually and in conjunction.

This is tough-as-nails hard-boiled horror with a streak of weirdness and paranoia a country mile wide. It is wholly North American in its sympathies, its textures, and its provenance. Highly recommended for fans of the genre; essential for new writers as an example of how it’s done by one of the best short story writers in the business.

The Man with the Barbed Wire Fists

Lesser Demons

6 thoughts on “Read This: Norman Partridge

  1. Jesse the Hun says:

    I remember picking up Dark Harvest and being blown away by it. Still in my Halloween rotation to this day. Whenever I have a bit o’ the block, I turn to authors like him to help loosen up the creative muscles.

  2. Scott Pohlenz says:

    So true. Thanks for pointing out Norman, Laird. I got in on the ground floor with him — Bad Intentions and Slippin’ Into Darkness. I wish his mysteries would have sold better. I’m always on the lookout for his work but he seems to publishe far to little these days.

  3. Nicholas (nick) Martin says:

    Some times I feel as though the internet made everything collectable. You can’t find a delivered copy of The Man With Barbed Wire Fists for less than 40$ anywhere and the same was true with some of your works. I hope Norman gets well known enough to have his books rereleased.

  4. Laird says:

    I hope so too, Nick.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blood Standard

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

Matthew Revert Art

X's for Eyes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,350 other followers

%d bloggers like this: