Moving Day

18

April 8, 2015 by Laird

Yesterday, I began what will be a lengthy process of moving into a new place near Stone Ridge, NY. Jessica and I renting on a month to month basis, but it’s a lovely home in the heart of farm country in the Catskill foothills and I suspect we’ll be here a while. The journey here has been long and arduous. Moving into a house with one’s significant other is an important transition.

Several years ago my personal life went pear-shaped. Life basically took all my skin off over the course of a few weeks and left me a bundle of exposed nerves. The two things that kept the ship from sinking was my dog and my writing projects. I took care of them and they returned the favor. I spent most of 2011 holed up in the mountains near Lincoln, Mt with my brother Jason and his wife Harmony. During the day, I managed a neighbor’s kennel of huskies and helped with all the labor that attends a homestead on the edge of the wilderness. At night, I wrote “More Dark,” “Hand of Glory” and The Croning. 

Late that fall I packed the truck and drove in two shots across the country to Rifton, NY. I rented a room from John and Fiona Langan. Since then, I’ve worked with Fiona down at the farm, hayed during the summer, helped with a couple of rescue dogs,and seen John and his son David progress from white to red belts in Tang Soo Do.

Mostly, however, I’ve battened down the hatches and written. Out of all those dark times have come Jessica Mace, Johnny Cope, Rex, a crime novel, and numerous crazy ideas for stories that would not have occurred to me otherwise. What I needed for recovery was the time and environment to focus on the work which gives me purpose and fulfillment.

Thank you to Jason, Harmony and the little Barrons in Montana, and thank you to John, Fiona, and David Langan here in New York. Thank you for giving me shelter and allowing me to put the pieces back together.

18 thoughts on “Moving Day

  1. kfwils says:

    Thanks for sharing that. You’re interview on the LovecrafteZine was great. Be well.

  2. Jonathan Sprague says:

    Your blog posts are extraordinarily well written, achingly honest and heartfelt. I agree with kfwils, you nailed your eZine interview. Good fortune in your new digs.

  3. Congrats on your moving day, and thanks for reminding us all that writing is always and forever something to hold us steady.

    • Laird says:

      Thanks, Heather. Adversity has changed how I perceive the importance of the ritual of writing, that is certain.

  4. Moving is stressful, but at least you are doing it before summer. I hope everything goes well!

  5. Kevin z says:

    Reading a biography about you would be more interesting than the most, for sure. I think that deep connection with labor/earth/natural cycles under the auspicious gaze of an unobstructed firmament creates as much as it heals.
    Allows for the Need to be holistically channeled into “x” activity. Glad life worked the way it needed too. Selfishly, ‘Hand of Glory’ is one of my favorite short stories. So much building material tucked away in that one.
    Thanks for sharing this blurb of Life. I enjoy the catharsis of artists and fighters I admire.

    • Laird says:

      Thanks, man. I agree–and I’m glad you enjoyed Hand of Glory. I retreated to the solace of the pulps of my youth when I wrote it.

  6. T.E. Grau says:

    I like reading this.

  7. It was nice reading this, Laird. Best wishes to you and Jessica in your new place. Please e-mail me your new mailing address so I can send you that copy of BITTER WATER BLUES when the paperback finally comes out.

  8. Spooky Sean says:

    Sometimes things just break down.
    Nobodies fault, really.
    The plus side for creatives is in the midst of turmoil, knee deep in boiling black waste, there is an outlet.
    You channeled it, and wrote same damn fine stories as a result.

    Glad to hear you seem like you came out the other end of the cave with your skin still on.

  9. erickeyswriter says:

    I can definitely see how More Dark could grow out of such an experience. I’m glad you managed to get through it and congrats on the new place!

  10. Laird says:

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

X's for Eyes

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,008 other followers

