Thank You to Marly Rusoff

Leave a comment

January 23, 2015 by Laird

Marly Rusoff’s name pinged my radar today. It made me realize I owe her a public thank you.

Many years ago before I’d ever sold anything, I did some transcription work for a non-fiction writer. His agent was Marly Rusoff. She ultimately got him signed to a major book deal. At the time I was working on an epic fantasy novel, something Ms. Rusoff didn’t represent. Nonetheless, one thing led to another and she red-lined the first five pages of that novel. Her advice clicked and I experienced a painful moment of crystal clear enlightenment regarding my flaws as a stylist. Sort of an intellectual rebirth, except I didn’t require a doctor to slap me on the ass to start crying.

These days she heads her own agency and I have no doubt her clients are in excellent hands. Thank you for taking the time to help a new writer out, Ms. Rusoff. It was a small thing, those five pages of red slashes and scribbled notes you performed as a courtesy, but it turned out to be much bigger for me.

Leave a Reply

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

X's for Eyes

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,931 other followers

