Watch This: Beyond the Black Rainbow

8

July 31, 2014 by Laird

A creepy and ambiguous film and one that requires a certain amount of patience. This isn’t fast-twitch filmmaking; it’s measured and nuanced in the manner of the eras it emulates. Reviews make much of the 2001 aesthetic, but I see an equal measure of Phase IV and even a hint of Logan’s Run. It hits the sweet spot between nostalgia and craft. Disturbing as hell–two scenes made me flinch–BTBR is one of the best horror films in recent memory.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Watch This: Beyond the Black Rainbow

  1. Beverly says:

    Yes, I saw that one a while back. A strange trip, and well worth it.

  2. griffinwords says:

    Love this one, and plan to watch it again soon.

  3. samco13 says:

    I started watching it a while back – got 20 minutes in, then life interrupted. That was enough for me to know that I will absolutely watch the whole thing, when the time and setting is just right. I’ll take movies like this over jumpy splatterfests any day of the year. Hey Mike, let’s organize a virtual watch party!

  4. griffinwords says:

    Good plan, Sam. We should make all the cool people in the world watch at once!

  5. nickthehat says:

    I caught this at a midnight screening, which wasn’t the best scenario when you’re tired. I really love how atmospheric and claustrophobic this is and the soundtrack is perfect. I really need to see this one again….and again…

  6. Chris says:

    Black and White scene…
    That’s all I’m saying.

Leave a Reply

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

X's for Eyes

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,046 other followers

