Stoker/Norm Partridge

15

May 11, 2014 by Laird

Thank you to the HWA voters for giving The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All a Stoker Award in the collection category. You could’ve knocked me over with a feather.

For my money, Nathan Ballingrud’s collection was the best thing on the ballot. I humbly suggest you make haste to secure North American Lake Monsters asap.

I am chagrined to realize that I neglected Norm Partridge in my acceptance speech, so let me rectify that immediately. Norm provided a terrific intro to my collection. Thank you, Norm. He’s one of the great North American horror writers. Go check him out: 10/31: Bloody Mary

»

15 thoughts on “Stoker/Norm Partridge

  1. tom fattorusso says:

    Many thanks for giving us this collection. Also with your rec. I add Langan and his last collection- The three of you need to participate in the new Night Visions!! Editors are you listening!!/?

  2. T.E. Grau says:

    I support everything in this post. Congrats, Laird!

  3. chimerapoet says:

    a well deserved award! Congratulations!

  4. nickthehat says:

    Bravo, big congrats to you, my man, for the win and to all the nominees for this category. I’ll bet it was a tough choice. Ballingrud’s collection is fantastic and so is yours, Laird.

    • No worries, Laird–proud to be part of the book, and it was an honor to write the intro. Plus: it was a win-win night all around. Food and good company and free wine at the GOH table, and I got to sit next to my ol’ pal Nancy Holder. Bonus!

      Also: Your name brought on a rousing cheer that surely shook the walls of Valhalla.

      All around ’twas was damn near legendary, methinks.

      Norm

    • Laird says:

      Thanks, Nick. I think a lot of Nathan’s work.

  5. I too loved BEAUTIFUL THING. The award was well-deserved, IMHO. I’ll admit Nathan’s also impressed me. Now, about that nice hardcover packaging you want…. 😉

  6. lilthundercloud says:

    Congratulations Laird. Your collection is amazing, and this award is very well deserved!!

Leave a Reply

Blood Standard

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

Matthew Revert Art

X's for Eyes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,304 other followers

