State of My State

6

March 6, 2014 by Laird

I am a little overwhelmed–I owe stories to editors, several interviews are overdue, am working very hard to secure permissions from publishers/authors for the Year’s Best Weird, Vol. 1; and most important of all, I am writing a pair of tributes to the great Michael Shea. Of course, each of these items is due yesterday. By the grace of the gods and a bottle of whiskey, I shall prevail yet.
Thanks to family, friends, colleagues, and readers (and booze), yesterday I had one of the best birthdays ever. Thanks, everybody (particularly to my wonderful girlfriend Jessica; she keeps me on an even keel).

6 thoughts on “State of My State

  1. Chris Cheshire says:

    Happy belated birthday! I am somewhat gladdened to know that even fantastic writers struggle to keep up with deadlines and the minutiae of literary life. I had somehow assumed that you simply scribbled down a story or two before breakfast on a used cocktial napkin (in about 3 minutes) before hiking some impossible mountain and then wrestling a wild bear! I shall envy you slightly less in the course of my daily grind.

  2. Laird says:

    Thanks, Chris. Heh, it’s an eight to ten hour day, most days. A good job, though.

  3. tom fattorusso says:

    Happy B day LB! I am tired of re reading your stories for the 5th and 6th times so I do not feel bad when I say to you!!!!! lets get going!!!!!
    Cannot wait to see your edited stories either-

  4. lilthundercloud says:

    Happy Birthday Laird!
    Glad it was a good one.
    Writing must be a bit like a Thanksgiving dinner– it takes days to make but gets gobbled down in minutes.
    Thanks for all your hard work. As always, I’m eagerly anticipating the next Laird Barron story!

Leave a Reply

Blood Standard

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

Matthew Revert Art

X's for Eyes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,462 other followers

