True Detecting

3

February 2, 2014 by Laird

Nic Pizzolatto is the creator of the new hit show True Detective. We met shortly after my first collection came out and have corresponded over the years. I reviewed his collection Between Here and the Yellow Sea on my old LJ, but alas that piece seems to have been lost. Suffice to say, you should go read it–it’s one of the best contemporary short fiction collections around. He followed that up with a noir novel called Galveston, another knockout. It surprises me not at all that he’s hailed as a heavyweight writer. Used to be we all dreamed of movie deals. I increasingly believe cable television is the future.

Nic talks about his influences, the Ligotti connection, and his favorite horror writers at the WSJ blog Speakeasy.

Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson in “True Detective.”James Bridges/HBO

3 thoughts on “True Detecting

  1. James McGlothlin says:

    OMG! This interview was awesome. I saw the trailer for this show and it looked intriguing. Now I’m crapping my pants to see it! A major show’s creator who cites Ligotti and Barron as major inspirations–that is awesome! I hope you might get a chance to write an episode for the show!

  2. I think you’re right about cable television being the future. The last few years has seen a massive increase in the quality of TV shows, and a further decline in Hollywood. HBO is great, but isn’t just the premium networks either. Networks like AMC are becoming more bold, ten years ago I wouldn’t have believed that a zombie show as graphic as Walking Dead would be on the air, let alone how popular it is. And Breaking Bad? Hands down the best show I’ve ever seen, worlds better than the majority of the film coming out these days.

    I’m excited to see where Nic takes the show, and I’m also excited to read Galveston, as my copy just arrived yesterday.

Leave a Reply

Blood Standard

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

Matthew Revert Art

X's for Eyes

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,294 other followers

