Luke Honey & Miller

10

August 28, 2013 by Laird

I avoid writing story notes, but down the road there’s a project that will require them. So here are a couple of items for those who are interested in arcana.

Luke Honey of “Blackwood’s Baby” is basically my projection of how the Kid from McCarthy’s Blood Meridian might’ve turned out if he’d gone to visit kin in Utah and then hunted big game in Africa instead of going to war in Mexico. It’s not a point for point comparison, the characters aren’t mirrors. Their provenance is merely similar. Nonetheless, Luke Honey’s barely supressed rage, the savagery percolating through his blood, the deep, black hole shot through his soul, is most certainly inspired by what I imagined the Kid as an adult might experience.

“Blackwood’s Baby” and my other hunting story “The Men from Porlock” were written to mirror one another in the new collection. Miller, the protagonist of the latter tale, has a secret history that isn’t touched therein. We know he was a sniper in WWI, and we know he’s suffering from battle fatigue. But there are other, darker details left unscoped. What I’ll tell you now is a fact alluded to in the text: it was Miller who taught Luke Honey to shoot.

Available for preorder

 

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

10 thoughts on “Luke Honey & Miller

  1. dan says:

    Hi Laird, I am highly enjoying reading everything from you that I can lay hands on. We were just talking about this very thing on TLO.net conjecturing on this very point when–Voila!–you solved it. Blood Meridian is on my all time list of horror novels, btw…I think The Croning is somewhere on there, too 😉

  2. Laird says:

    Dan:

    I’m a member at TLO and saw the conversation. I am reluctant to intrude on such conversations, so the post. It was due, anyway. I’ve been asked similar questions about these stories on numerous occasions. Thanks for your kind words.

    L

    • dan says:

      Laird, when you say “these stories” are you referring explicitly to “The Men from Porlock” and “Blackwood’s Baby”? Or are there other stories featuring Luke Honey?

  3. ”The Men from Porlock” is one of those evil jewels that leaps up when you don’t expect it. It is such a great part of the myth-arc that you’ve constructed. I remember I had just finished “The Croning” and, after a few weeks of really vivid and disquieting dreams, I thought I had kicked the monkey off my back. I few days later I was to find ”The Men from Porlock” as the last story in an anthology I had picked up. I was back down the rabbit hole of fear and loathing as I gobbled up every last nuance of that story.

    • Laird says:

      Thank you. A few of these stories arose from disquieting dreams of my own.

    • dan says:

      Yes, I just got finished reading it a moment ago (well an hour ago, I just couldn’t leave “More Dark” until tomorrow!). Fine work and one of the best of an immaculate (new) collection. It will certainly prompt me to revisit the bleak and nightmare inducing “The Croning” again soon.

  4. Bill says:

    I’m way late to this party but as I was reading Blackwood’s Baby recently in a best of the year horror collection, I couldn’t help thinking of Blood Meridian, though I wasn’t sure why. Lo and behold, I ran across this post. I also wondered if the title might be a reference/tribute/whatever to Algernon Blackwood. Great story.

Leave a Reply

Swift to Chase

Man with No Name

X's for Eyes

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,046 other followers

